Some Perspective Please!

The internet and social media loves a bit of hysteria and exercise and fitness are no exceptions to this. Recently there were a few articles posted online which related to CrossFit and a condition called Rhabdomylosis (for more information read more here). First there was this article in the Huffington Post referring to Rhabdomylosis as ‘CrossFit’s dirty little secret’. This was then followed by a few other articles screeching the same thing: CrossFit might kill you via Rhabdomylosis!

Then of course there were the pro-CrossFit articles which accused people who didn’t do CrossFit of being jealous and blamed the participants of CrossFit who have suffered from this life threatening condition for their own demise. Not brilliantly helpful but I understand why people want to defend what they enjoy.

So these were the two sides of the coin. Neither particularly constructive and both with the potential to put people off from ever trying CrossFit or maybe any other form of exercise. Yey, well done everyone for giving people yet ANOTHER reason not to get moving.

Now I come at this from a completely different perspective. I am a runner first and foremost. I do CrossFit and I enjoy it but running has and always will be my first love. But I would like to go through some things that might help us get a bit of perspective on a rare condition, exercise and illness in general.

All you have to do to find out a bit about Rhabdomylosis, specifically exertional Rhabdomylosis is to chuck a search into Google Scholar. Participants in many of the studies that come up are military recruits, ultra runners, marathon runners (dammit) and, umm, horses. Plus a case study about a hockey player who played a tournament, became ill, was rushed to hospital and discovered to have Rhabdomylosis.

This very quick search tells me it is not a condition that is limited to those who do CrossFit. Further reading showed that some individuals have an unfortunate genetic predisposition to develop Rhabdomylosis which they would have had no idea about before exercising (this was found to be the case in the hockey player case study). Plus people on prescribed statins are at risk and those with underlying thyroid conditions (which they may not know about). The Huff Post article quotes a US study as giving a 0.06% incidence of Rhabdomylosis for the US population but I couldn’t find figures for the UK population. So all in all I’m not overly worried about Rhabdomylosis and CrossFit. A couple of case reports do not make an epidemic.

Moving on I wanted to address the pro-CrossFit posts which blame individuals for ‘bringing it on themselves and not taking responsibility’. Well I would just like to ask: do people who get a knee injury playing football bring it on themselves? Do marathon runners bring it on themselves when they collapse from a heart condition they didn’t know they had? Do horse riders bring it on themselves when they fall from a horse? Did the hockey player deserve what he got for trying to do his best for his team? I just don’t get this argument and I really think it is counter-productive. As mentioned above, people may have a predisposition to Rhabdomylosis (I hate typing that word). They might be in an ‘at risk’ group that they have no idea they are in. So a little bit more empathy please for people who do happen to develop this condition.

I get that not everyone likes the same kind of exercise. CrossFit is still relatively new and people are probably still trying to get used to it being around. Plus people tend to be ignorant of things they don’t know or don’t understand. I could argue that running has been around since the dawn of time, no doubt one of the oldest forms of exercise going, yet people still hate it and ask me why on earth I want to do it. But as long as I enjoy it and do my best to maintain my health and wellbeing, who cares? A small study of runners who completed a marathon in Taiwan found that everyone who finished had sustained some damage to their hearts. Would this stop me from running? Never. Life is too short to freak out about something that may or may not happen.

So pro and anti CrossFitters. Consider your heads well and truly knocked together. The articles from both sides are completely unhelpful and bordering on hysterical. There is no clear research to say CrossFitters are more at risk than those who take on 100 mile Ultra runs. There is probably more research out there about why running is harmful (la, la, la, la I’m not listening) but the research on obesity, heart conditions and diabetes, all consequences of not exercising or being active, concerns me more. Take a step back and gain some perspective and help people to fall in love with moving and being healthy.

6 thoughts on “Some Perspective Please!

  1. Jo | Geek Fairy (@2starsandaswirl)

    Brilliant balanced article 🙂

    As a crossfitter I was one to jump on the retweet all the articles that were defending it. As I love it and it has changed my life. But I do get also it is not for everyone. But that doesn’t mean that people who don;t get it or enjoy it should bash it as dangerous.

    Problem is there are load of youtube videos of crossfit and bad form etc.

    As someone who hates (OK I admit less so now that I can actually do it, a bit without wanting to die) running, I am still unable to understand why anyone loves it, but I am surrounded by those who do so you can’t ALL be mad 😀

    But as you say, it doesn’t matter what you do, just do something and find something you love and can do to be active.

    Reply
    1. kat_rocket Post author

      I didn’t really want it to come across as anti crossfit or pro running. A different example would be rugby. I’m not a huge rugby fan, I like watching but I could never understand why my husband would want to play a game that caused him so much pain with a high risk of serious injury. But he was exercising and he got a buzz from it that made him light up the room. My problem with some crossfitters came when they were actively blaming people for getting hurt. Well for me that’s like blaming rugby players for the serious injuries they sustain but like you say as long as there is good coaching and people take some responsibility for their sport then why should anyone bash any of the sports that people do?

      Reply
  2. Joey

    I work with a girl who got that. Doctors didn’t know what it was. It wasn’t until a few weeks after she healed that she found out what had happened.

    Reply
  3. Ben

    What we should all be worried about is that despite all that exercise if we then go and sit down all day it doesn’t matter anyway. Or so I read somewhere 🙂

    Reply
    1. kat_rocket Post author

      Totally, I’m sure I’ve undone any of the exercise I’ve done this week by watching back to back The Walking Dead episodes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

