Run With An Idea Debate: Real Runner’s Don’t Walk

Welcome to another debate from Run With An Idea. This week’s debate is:

‘Real Runner’s Don’t Walk’

When I first saw this topic I was sure I’d be of the opinion that yes, of course, real runner’s don’t walk. And while it is true that many runners would eventually hope that they could complete a course or training run without walking, I don’t agree with the fact that walking makes you less of a runner.

Lately I’ve been injured and even though I’d rather I was able to run an entire run like I did months ago it’s not always possible so I use a walk break to allow me to stretch, gather my thoughts and complete my run. People who are new to running usually start with a walk/run programme, and there is nothing wrong with this. It is another form of interval training to build fitness in a safe way, a bit like a fartlek. Trail runners are occasionally forced to walk because terrain or incline mean it’s not safe or possible to run. So there are plenty of occasions when walking is valid, it does not mean that they are any less a runner. If ‘runner’ runners were really honest they would admit to occasions when they’ve been forced to walk.

The thing I have always loved about running is it’s accessibility to all. I love that anyone regardless of ability can put on a pair of trainers and get out the door to get fit. Running snobbery like this can really irritate me as running is not an elite club. Elite running is an elite club but not running itself. I can see now the type of runner who gets annoyed by walkers and thinks that they don’t belong: male, club runner, checks their watch a lot, tuts at other runners, you know who I’m talking about. There would be no reason for them to tut if race organisers would place people in pens according to their predicted time. Or maybe they could have separate pens for runner’s who know they’re going to need walk breaks.

If you run you are a runner, whether you need a walking break or not. People should not be discouraged from a hobby that keeps them happy and healthy to satisfy running snobs. What would we rather? That runner/walker’s stayed at home and became sedentary again? No, they are runners and they should be supported for doing everything possible to keep them active and moving.

And just so we’re not down on all walkers: Rob Heffernan from Cork, the winner of the 50km Race Walk World Championships, completed the course in 3 hours and 37 minutes. Two minutes faster than I ran my marathon (42km) last year. Walking isn’t necessarily something to be sniffed at.

5 thoughts on “Run With An Idea Debate: Real Runner’s Don’t Walk

  1. fromsnickerstomarathon

    I totally agree with you. Running is, and should be an accessible sport. As long as we’re not getting in each others way at races then who cares whether people have to stop and take a walk break. If it helps them finish, feel good about themselves and therefore keep on running then I’m all for it.

    Reply
  2. MrsB | Mind over Matter

    Totally agree. I always advise people who are new to running to not be afraid to walk when they need to, otherwise they push themselves too hard and end up hating running 😐

    However, I do not like when people walk during a 5 or a 10k flat race – they cause a lot of disruption for the runners who have to navigate past them (British 10k, I’m looking at you).

    Reply
    1. kat_rocket Post author

      Absolutely agree with you. That’s where runners either need to take responsibility and be honest with themselves about where they line up at the start or race organisers need to do a far better job. Maybe have a keep to the right rule for runners who know they will very walking.

      Reply
  3. emskiruns

    As a new runner I do agree with this post – I still very much class myself as a new runner as I do still have to take run breaks sometimes and no I’m not ashamed of it.
    I had to walk in May during my first ever 10k – albeit I only walked for about 1/2 km at around 8.5km but I did make sure I wasn’t in anyones way or disturbing anyone else’s run. I do have to agree with some posters on here that walking the whole distance does seem a little bit of a waste of joining a run! I was determined to run the whole thing but sadly pain and mental barriers at that point slowed me to a walk – I was gutted about this but I still finished in faster than the time I has planned.

    x

    Reply

Leave a comment